top of page
Search
  • tigerview1904

1904 Archive: Ryan France

Updated: Mar 15, 2021

Born in Sheffield.. France, despite been courted by a select number of league clubs began his career at Alfreton Town and would subsequently go on to have a stellar career, predominantly for his contributions initially at Alfreton and in the Black and Amber colour's of Hull City.

It was at Alfreton, France made a strong start to life as a footballer, contributing efforts across the board including forty five goals in one hundred and ninety-nine appearances. After an impressive start to the 2003-04 campaign which saw five goals in seven appearances, France caught the eye of Hull City and the then manager, Peter Taylor, subsequently joining The Tigers in September of that season.

A Debut to remember for Ryan France.

(Image - Hull Daily Mail)


I Recently caught up with the Ex-Tiger to gain insight on the footballing world and began with Ryan's thoughts on joining The Tigers from Alfreton Town in 2003 and going forward with Hull City upon joining.


"I loved my time at Alfreton. A fantastic club that supported me throughout my time there, playing with and for some great people. It was a place I was going to miss enormously.


When Hull offered me a contract, well it was a dream come true and something I’d partly given up on because I was approaching 23 but still working very hard towards if that makes sense. And having now got my degree, my feelings were it’s a two year contract, if it’s not a successful two years - well it’s not the end of the world. But I’m going to give it everything I’ve got to make it successful.


And what a decision it was to be.


That first week I didn’t expect to be in the squad for Saturday, but I was. I didn’t expect to be in the match day squad, but I was. I didn’t expect to get the nod in the second half it was time to make my debut, but I did. And everything just went well for me during the game. Which resulted in my debut goal and a 6-1 win over Kidderminster.


At that moment I knew we had a great club, great fans, a great manager and a great team - anything was possible. And what they say is, the rest is history!"


France would continue his hard working mentality and versatility during his near six year stay in the City of Hull, thus completing an impressive feat of four consecutive promotions: 2001/02 and 2002/03 in non-league football with Alfreton and 2003/04 and 2004/05 with The Tigers in the Football League. One hundred and thirty-three apearances later, an appearance against Arsenal in the Premier League was testimony to a sensational meteoric rise.. As Ryan joined an elite band of players to have represented the same football club in all four divisions of the Engilsh Football League.

Ryan France making his Premier League Debut against Arsenal.

(Image - Hull Daily Mail)


In conversation with the man himself, we spoke on Hull City's successful 2007/08 campaign in reaching the Premier League, to gain his perspective on that wonderful season and what it meant for him and the club..


"A question I have been asked a lot over the years and if I’m honest, and I am an honest fella, it doesn’t rank in the top ten personal highlights of playing for Hull City and that’s only on a personal note. I was delighted for my teammates, the staff, the club and of course the fans, but not featuring much, especially in the final run in, it’s not a day I’d say “oh I wish I could go back and live that day again.” Again, purely personal reasons for this one. Every footballer wants to be involved and play and when they don’t, it’s hard. But as I said, for everyone else involved, I was chuffed.


From 2001/2-2005/6 I played in an Alfreton Town team and got promoted twice and played in a Hull City team and got promoted twice, with a fantastic winning mentality on and off the field, sharing great memories with some great pals. Those were the best days!"


By the summer of 2009, Ryan had knocked up a stellar ten year career. With three hundred plus senior appearances to his name, injury began to plague his wearing body and with first team opportunities beginning to dwindle, France found his time with The Tigers at an unfortunate end and subsequently joined his hometown side Sheffield United on a two year deal after a brief trial with City rivals Sheffield Wednesday.


Continuing conversations with Ryan, the question was then asked, what were his most memorable moments in a Black and Amber shirt and the most memorable players he has teamed with during his time at Hull City?!


"Ahhh I’ve got loads of fond memories from my time at Hull. The most memorable moments were my debut for obvious reasons, my debut in the premier league as the box had been finally ticked and the away 4-2 win at Hillsborough for a number of reasons really. It is my home city and I knew lots of friends and family would be in to see. We had an amazing away following anyway but that evening in particular. It was a fantastic game of football to be involved in. And we played extremely well in a big game that season.


With regards to memorable players. There were a few weren’t there? I’d be here all day naming them. And I made some incredible friends that I still keep in good contact with. It was a real family club in the early years. As a family we meet up regularly with the Dawson’s, Duke’s and Myhill’s and our kids are great friends. The player I admired the most to play with and be in a dressing room with was Nick Barmby. What a player. What a professional. Always on the next page. Always working, stretching, making himself the best he could be - and that for me is the biggest trait anyone can have - be the best they can be. Get the most of yourself. Don’t be an underachiever! Well Nick certainly wasn’t. And he was always there to help. A proper professional footballer."


On the flip side of playing, we then spoke on the management Ryan had played under and subsequently.. During his time at Hull City, who in his opinion, demanded the most out of him and the squad as a Manager?


"I loved playing for both Peter Taylor and Phil Brown. I couldn’t choose one. If they had demanded nothing out of me I’d have still given 100%. Both were brilliant for me. Before I ruptured my cruciate in 2007 I think I was playing my best football ever under Phil Brown. It couldn’t have come at a worse time really. There isn’t a good time but that was a dreadful time in my opinion."


Unable to hold down a regular spot in the Sheffield United eleven, France became a regular unused feature on the substitutes bench for the opening half of the 2009/10 season. In February of that season, France would unfortunately pick up a knee injury after making only nine appearances for The Blades. Ryan was expected to be sidelined for only six to eight weeks, yet, he was never to play for the club again, after failing to recover his full fitness. Thus.. in 2011 it was announced, that after a stellar twelve year career, Ryan France had retired from the game.


Forever a servant to the game, Ryan will reamain a fans' favourite for his contributions in a Black and Amber shirt and a legend in his own right.

222 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page